Gear Nerds: Andrew, Jamie & Ruairi (Jacob)

Andrew12244330_737541336390674_5680796735928793010_o

Photo Credit: ZK Photo

1. Name and Current and notable past musical projects you’re been involved in ?

jacob, How To Survive A Bull Fight, Soft Karate

(at least the three worth noting about…)

2. What kind of guitar/bass do you play and other notable guitars/basses you own?

At the moment I’m using my Fender ’72 Tele Deluxe, which I have added some bits and pieces to but I have been meaning to muck around with my old Tom Delonge Stratocaster. It’s pretty beat up now but I would love to throw in a different pickup. I have always loved the idea of using a lipstick pickup for something so that could make the Strat a little more interesting. Possibly? Probably not…

My most important piece of gear though, is definitely my modded 1983 Marshall JCM 800.

3. What are your main influences for your rig?

My main influences, especially while recording the album were any records that didn’t cover their guitars in distortion. Bands like Into It. Over It, Saves The Day and Death Cab For Cutie have such big sounding guitar parts but everything is so clear.

4. Favourite piece of gear and why?

My favourite piece of gear is certainly my MicroKorg Synth. I spent a lot of time making this album trying to fit as many little treats as I could underneath the rest of the music. I do however know that subtlety is key and Chris likes to remind me every now and then just in case I ever do forget.

5. Is there anything you would change and/or add to your rig to improve it?

For the last week or so I have had a sudden urge to buy a Line 6 DL4. I haven’t been excited about gear for a long time now and I have really tried to simplify my live set up but I’ve been doing a bit of looping trying to recreate the album sounds and that 1/2 speed feature just sounds ridiculous.

Jamie

12068839_720798014731673_1164423929218696927_o

Photo Credit: ZK Photo

1. Name and Current and notable past musical projects you’re been involved in ?

A Triumph, A Tragedy. Transitions, Naive and Jacob.

2. What kind of guitar/bass do you play and other notable guitars/basses you own?

For the last year or so i’ve been playing my 2011 Fender Stratocaster but i also have a 2012 Fender Telecaster.

3. What are your main influences for your rig?

I love my cleans crispy and gains crunchy. My Orange MK50 Rockverb II does it all. I can get a bright, punchy tone out of the clean channel and the dirty channel has a very clear, crunchy, fat tone that i haven’t been able to create with my previous amps.

4. Favourite piece of gear and why?

Well I’m not huge on pedals and only use a tuner/channel switcher live but i do however have soft spot for my Boss Flanger BF-3 and my Boss DD-7 delay pedal. I only use them when I’m home alone haha but you can create some really cool ambient sounds using the 2 together.

5. Is there anything you would change and/or add to your rig to improve it?

I would love to get my mits on a Fender Mustang. It sounds incredibly lame but i’ve always just picked my guitars based on how cool i thought they looked haha. Like when i saw Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys playing a Strat in that dance floor video i was just like, “damn, that looks cool” haha. In my opinion though Mustang definitely has the coolest shape out of the Fender catalogue.

Ruairi

12006430_720798161398325_4872272469453455772_o

Photo Credit: ZK Photo

1. Name and Current and notable past musical projects you’re been involved in ?

None but the brave, postal, dog act, soft karate, jacob

2. What kind of guitar/bass do you play and other notable guitars/basses you own?

Greco SG 1973 bass

Ibanez Musician 1977 guitar

3. What are your main influences for your rig?

The Zombies, Saves the Day, Charles Bradley

4. Favourite piece of gear and why?

Fender Vibrasonic 1972

A beautiful amplifier! The 15″ speaker gives you plenty of punch and the inbuilt vibrato has the warmest, toastiest sounds. Check out The bass line at the end of ‘I Dont want to keep writing them’.

5. Is there anything you would change and/or add to your rig to improve it?

I’d love to get my hands on a GK rb400. An industry standard, but those clean and punch tones are just what i’m looking for.

14642243_534307146764882_3742967023714698907_n

Jacob’s debut album is available digitally & physically on 12” Vinyl now through Bandcamp.

Leave a Reply

